For best experience please turn on javascript and use a modern browser!
Research Master International Development Studies

Academic staff

International Development Studies (Research MSc)

The Research Master in International Development Studies is organised by the Graduate School of Social Sciences of the Faculty of Social and Behavioural Sciences at the University of Amsterdam.

The academic staff of this programme is actively involved in research and most are affiliated with the UvA based Amsterdam Institute of Social Science Research (AISSR), in particular in the research group Governance and Inclusive Development (GID). Most GID staff members are senior researchers of the National Research School for Resource Studies for Development CERES.

Michaela Hordijk
Michaela Hordijk

Michaela Hordijk

The adjunct Director of the programme is Dr. Michaela Hordijk

Michaela Hordijk is Assistant Professor International Development Studies. Her main research interests include urban environmental management practices and participatory governance innovations in Latin America. She is currently adjunct scientific coordinator of the EU funded research programme Chance2sustain (2010-2014) in 10 cities in India, South Africa, Brazil and Peru. The main focus of this research programme is the potential contribution of participatory knowledge management for sustainable development. Her current research concentrates on water governance and climate change in cities in developing countries, and on youth and housing in Latin American cities. 

Personal homepage Michaela Hordijk

Mieke Lopes Cardozo

Academic Adviser

Dr. Mieke Lopes Cardozo is the Academic Adviser of the research Master's programme in International Development Studies.

Mieke Lopes Cardozo is lecturer in the research Master International Development Studies. Hermain research interest includes reforming land and resource use and its impact on livelihoods.

Personal homepage Mieke Lopes Cardozo

Other lecturers

Below is a list of other lecturers in this programme. Click the name of a lecturer for more information (if available).

Michiel Baud

Maarten Bavinck

Niels Beerepoot

Joyeeta Gupta

Sean Higgins

Rifke Jaffe

Courtney Lake Vegelin

Esther Miedema

Gerben Moerman

Karin Pfeffer

Nicky Pouw

Mirjam Ros-Tonen

Hebe Verrest