For best experience please turn on javascript and use a modern browser!
You are using a browser that is no longer supported by Microsoft. Please upgrade your browser. The site may not present itself correctly if you continue browsing.

Keynote: David Graeber (LSE) & David Wengrow (UCL), 'The Myth of the Stupid Savage: Rousseau's Ghost and the Future of Political Anthropology'.

Event details of PPA+ - Philosophy, Politics, Anthropology & Allied Disciplines
Start date 15 May 2019
End date 17 May 2019
Time 09:00

Call for abstracts:

The basic premise of PPA+ is that the fields of philosophy, politics, anthropology, and other social sciences have much more in common than is typically acknowledged. Philosophical claims about human beings had to start somewhere and, indeed, they usually began as basic empirical generalisations about the nature of human societies. Anthropology began as an offshoot from the field philosophy in the early 19th century and it continues to carry the same fundamental set of theoretical building blocks with it into the present day. Politics and other social science disciplines have comparable origins, typically traceable to moral philosophy. As an interdisciplinary conference and scholarly society, PPA+ aims to articulate the theoretical principles, methodological orientations, and empirical data that form the basis of philosophy, politics, anthropology and allied disciplines as traditionally distinct fields. Through this collaboration, we hope to identify persistent shortcomings and biases in our thinking about the nature of human social life ways and to find better ways forward.

Predecessors of this conference were held in New Orleans for the last three years. This year's conference will be hosted by the University of Amsterdam's Departments of Anthropology and Political Science.

Deadline for abstract submission (2-300 words): 16 December 2018.
Decisions by 21 December. Please send your abstract to

Programme committee:

Drew Chastain (Loyola)
Julie McBrien (Amsterdam)
Grant McCall (Tulane)
Enzo Rossi (Amsterdam)
Karl Widerquist (Georgetown)

Local organisers:

Gordon Arlen, Aleksander Masternak, Julie McBrien, Paul Raekstad, Enzo Rossi.